Sustainability

Home/Fields of competence/Sustainability
Sustainability2019-10-11T12:36:51+02:00

Brief description of the field of competence

The guiding principle of sustainable development and its implementation in business activities and at municipal business locations are the focus of the work in the competence field of sustainability. In transdisciplinary research and consulting projects, we support organisations in the development and implementation of approaches in the broad spectrum of sustainability issues: from the design of work systems to the management of supplier relationships and adaptation to the consequences of climate change.

Corporate sustainability

The concepts of sustainable corporate management and work system design as well as Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) are becoming increasingly important - be it from a purely operational rationality or a corporate conviction, due to social pressure or new legal regulations. In order to act sustainability-oriented, companies often cannot stop at their internal processes. As a result, there is also a growing awareness of their responsibility in the supply chain or value-added system for achieving sustainability goals. The sustainable design of globally distributed work and production systems is a challenging task. This is because compliance with social and environmental standards must be ensured in the context of diverse stakeholder requirements in different countries on the one hand and complex supply chains and supplier relationships on the other.

Against this background we support companies professionally and methodically

  • in the design and implementation of strategies and measures for CSR and sustainable supply chain management, e.g. in the definition of essential social and environmental standards
  • in working up the state of the art and learning from the competitors,
  • in creating approaches to work system design, risk management, due diligence or supplier development.

In doing so, ITA builds on experience from publicly funded research projects and long-term industrial cooperations.

Sustainable municipal business locations

The sustainable development of cities, districts and municipalities as business locations and centres of life for citizens means meeting global challenges where their effects are felt: locally, on the ground, with the people. In this context, sustainability does not only mean the consideration of ecological goals, but also the integrative consideration of economic, social and ecological effects and their interrelationships in strategic decisions that can have an impact on the future of a community. After all, the major challenges of our time, such as demographic change, climate impact adaptation and climate protection, regional structural change, generational equity, integration and inclusion, are ultimately more cross-cutting issues and municipal design tasks than the subject of individual measures of limited duration.

However, the implementation of sustainable and future-oriented strategies is not trivial and can only be conceived individually with the local people involved, because each community is as unique as the ideas of the people who live and work in it. It is often helpful to integrate already implemented or ongoing measures into an overall strategic concept in order to be able to select and implement future measures more efficiently. Or there is a need for even better coordination of the many active volunteers with the local government, so that everyone pulls together and the resources arrive directly where they are needed.

News from the competence field of sustainability

Projects in the competence field of sustainability

Contact person

Dipl.-Komm.-Wirtin Marina Jentsch
Senior Research Assistant

more

More on sustainability

Do you still have questions about sustainability? Get in contact with us!

CONTACT

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit2019-10-11T12:36:51+02:00

Kurzbeschreibung des Kompetenzfeldes

Das Leitbild der nachhaltigen Entwicklung und dessen Umsetzung in unternehmerischen Aktivitäten  und an kommunalen Wirtschaftsstandorten stehen im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit im Kompetenzfeld Nachhaltigkeit. In transdisziplinären Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekten unterstützen wir dabei Organisationen bei der Entwicklung und Implementierung von Ansätzen im breiten Themenspektrum der Nachhaltigkeit: von der Gestaltung der Arbeitssysteme über Management von Lieferantenbeziehungen bis hin zur Anpassung an die Folgen des Klimawandels.

Unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeit

Die Konzepte nachhaltige Unternehmensführung und Arbeitssystemgestaltung sowie Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung – sei es aus einer rein betrieblichen Rationalität oder einer unternehmerischen Überzeugung heraus, auf Grund von gesellschaftlichem Druck oder neuen gesetzlichen Vorschriften. Um nachhaltigkeitsorientiert zu handeln, können Unternehmen häufig nicht bei ihren internen Prozessen stehen bleiben. Daher wächst auch das Bewusstsein für ihre Verantwortung in der Lieferkette bzw. im Wertschöpfungssystem für das Erreichen von Nachhaltigkeitszielen. Dabei ist die nachhaltige Gestaltung von global verteilten Arbeits- und Produktionssystemen eine herausfordernde Aufgabe. Denn die Einhaltung von Sozial- und Umweltstandards muss im Kontext von vielfältigen Stakeholder-Anforderungen in verschiedenen Ländern auf der einen Seite und von komplexen Lieferketten und Lieferantenbeziehungen auf der anderen Seite sichergestellt werden.

Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützen wir Unternehmen fachlich und methodisch

  • bei der Konzeption und Implementierung von Strategien und Maßnahmen für CSR und nachhaltiges Lieferkettenmanagement, z.B. bei der Definition von wesentlichen Sozial- und Umweltstandards,
  • beim Aufarbeiten des State-of-the-Art und Lernen von den Wettbewerbern,
  • beim Erstellen von Ansätzen für Arbeitssystemgestaltung, Risikomanagement, Sorgfaltspflicht oder Lieferantenentwicklung.

Dabei baut das ITA auf Erfahrungen aus öffentlich geförderten Forschungsprojekten und langjährigen Industriekooperationen auf.

Nachhaltige kommunale Wirtschaftsstandorte

Die nachhaltige Entwicklung von Städten, Kreisen und Gemeinden als Wirtschaftsstandorten und Lebensmittelpunkt für die Bürgerinnen und Bürger bedeutet, globalen Herausforderungen dort zu begegnen, wo ihre Auswirkungen spürbar werden: lokal vor Ort bei den Menschen. Dabei steht Nachhaltigkeit nicht ausschließlich für die Berücksichtigung ökologischer Ziele, sondern für die integrative Betrachtung ökonomischer, sozialer und ökologischer Effekte und deren Wechselbeziehungen bei strategischen Entscheidungen, die Auswirkungen auf die Zukunft einer Kommune haben können. Denn die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit, wie z.B. demografischer Wandel, Klimafolgenanpassung und Klimaschutz, regionaler Strukturwandel, Generationengerechtigkeit, Integration und Inklusion, sind letztlich mehr Querschnittsthemen und kommunale Gestaltungsaufgabe denn Gegenstand zeitlich begrenzter Einzelmaßnahmen.

Die Umsetzung nachhaltiger und zukunftsfähiger Strategien indes ist nicht trivial und kann nur individuell mit den handelnden Personen vor Ort konzipiert werden, denn jede Kommune ist so einzigartig wie die Vorstellungen der Menschen, die in ihr leben und arbeiten. Oft ist es hilfreich, bereits umgesetzte oder laufende Maßnahmen in ein strategisches Gesamtkonzept einzufügen, um zukünftige Maßnahmen effizienter auswählen und umsetzen zu können. Oder es bedarf einer noch besseren Abstimmung der vielen aktiven Ehrenamtlichen mit der Kommunalverwaltung, damit alle an einem Strang ziehen und die Ressourcen direkt dort ankommen, wo sie gebraucht werden.

Aktuelles aus dem Kompetenzfeld Nachhaltigkeit

Projekte im Kompetenzfeld Nachhaltigkeit

Ansprechpartnerin

Dipl.-Komm.-Wirtin Marina Jentsch
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

mehr

Mehr zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit

Sie haben noch Fragen zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit? Nehmen Sie Kontakt zu uns auf!

KONTAKT