We introduce ourselves

The Institute for Technology and Work (ITA) is a human factors, ergonomics and economic research institution with the recognition as an affiliated institute of the Technical University of KaiserslauternIt is organised as a registered association with a charitable purpose and is managed by a four-member board of directors and supported by a Scientific Steering Committee . The Institute's funding organisations and customers include federal and state ministries as well as companies in the private and social sectors. Between 25 and 30 academic and non-academic staff members from various disciplines work together at ITA.

ITA's main field of activity is research and development for people and organisations. This means that ITA is concerned with the current and future requirements for the successful design of companies, non-profit and public organizations as well as their responsibility towards their employees, customers and society.

Current challenges are, for example, in dealing with demographic change in connection with a personnel policy that is more strongly oriented towards the life phase as well as a changed supply and demand for skilled workers, the globalisation of value-added networks and sales markets or the digitalisation of work, production and consumption processes. Concrete strategies and measures must be developed for the future-proof management of these complex interrelationships, but suitable instruments, methods and indicators must also be available. The examination of these research and development tasks essentially determines the work of the scientists at ITA.

Wir stellen uns vor

Das Institut für Technologie und Arbeit (ITA) ist eine arbeits- und wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Forschungseinrichtung mit der Anerkennung als An-Institut der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern. Es ist als eingetragener Verein mit gemeinnützigem Zweck organisiert und wird von einem vierköpfigen Vorstand geleitet und durch einen wissenschaftlichen Lenkungskreis unterstützt. Zu den Zuwendungs- und Auftraggebern des Instituts zählen Bundes- und Landesministerien sowie Unternehmen der Privat- und Sozialwirtschaft. Zwischen 25 und 30 wissenschaftliche und nicht wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter unterschiedlicher Fachdisziplinen arbeiten am ITA zusammen.

Das Haupttätigkeitsgebiet des ITA ist die Forschung und Entwicklung für Menschen und Organisationen. Das bedeutet, dass sich das ITA mit den gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Anforderungen an die erfolgreiche Gestaltung von Unternehmen, Non-Profit- und öffentlichen Organisationen beschäftigt sowie mit deren Verantwortung gegenüber ihren Mitarbeitern, Kunden und der Gesellschaft.

Aktuelle Herausforderungen liegen bspw. im Umgang mit dem demografischen Wandel in Verbindung mit einer stärker lebensphasenorientierten Personalpolitik sowie einem veränderten Fachkräfteangebot und -bedarf, der Globalisierung von Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken und Absatzmärkten oder der Digitalisierung von Arbeits-, Produktions- und Konsumprozessen. Für das zukunftssichernde Management dieser komplexen Zusammenhänge müssen konkrete Strategien und Maßnahmen entwickelt werden, aber auch geeignete Instrumente, Methoden und Indikatoren zur Verfügung stehen. Die Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufgaben bestimmt im Wesentlichen die Arbeit der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am ITA.