Project Description

In order to improve mental health care on a sustainable basis, more resources are needed for prevention and better coordination of all relevant actors. Within the framework of an interdisciplinary initiative in the Palatinate, which has taken up the cause of promoting the topic of resilience in the Palatinate region and also changing public opinion on this topic, the ITA is looking into how mental health and in particular the concept of individual resilience can be transferred from employees to organisations. If this transfer is successful, i.e. if organisational resilience can also be built up, then crises or times of high pressure to change can not only be survived, but also be used for the further development of an organisation in the direction of improved sustainability in terms of growth/strengthening.

In the field of mental health, the need for change towards more prevention is particularly evident. A look at the current discussions on (mental) stress at the workplace and its consequences shows that the solution to the social problems that are coming to light can only succeed if all relevant groups and subsystems are taken into account. A health care system geared purely to "repair" is overtaxed by this.
On the basis of these findings, the initiative "Die Pfalz macht sich/dich stark - Wege zur Resilienz" was founded in the Palatinate. The initiative is headed by the "Pfalzklinikum"; many different actors are involved, e.g. representatives of the Institute for Technology and Labour e.V. in Kaiserslautern, the University of Koblenz-Landau and the Institute for Journalism and Communication Research in Hanover. The experts joined forces in order to strengthen the prevention of mental illnesses in the Palatinate in the future, i.e. to improve health care sustainably and systemically.

From the team's point of view, the key to this is the promotion of resilience. This is the ability to deal well with change and the ups and downs of life and to develop even under adverse conditions. A key difference to other resilience approaches is conviction: It is not only for individuals that strengthening factors need to be built up and risks reduced - organisations (companies, schools, etc.) and communities or cities can also promote and cultivate resilience - with positive implications not only for individuals but also for the respective overall system. The team's vision is a resilient region in the year 2025.

The alliance is currently working on concrete activities and networks in the fields of "Theory and Therapy", "Organization and Work" and "Community and Public Health". Already today, there is a wide range of activities, projects to improve mental health at the workplace, in the region. In order to bring about a truly sustainable change in the health system and society as well as in public opinion on the subject of mental health and prevention, the group cooperates with the FrameWorks Institute, a communication research organization from the USA. The latter will develop a clear communication strategy aimed at changing public opinion in order to reach citizens as well as decision-makers in business and politics and to steer the discourse in a productive direction.
In a few years, attitudes and structures regarding mental health in the Palatinate will have changed noticeably and measurably and preventive and health-maintaining measures will have been expanded.

To the website of the initiative: www.resilienz-pfalz.de

Project title

Organizational resilience within the framework of the initiative "The Palatinate makes itself/yourself strong - ways to resilience

Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2024

Project partner

  • Institut für technologie und Arbeit (ITA)
  • Pfalzklinikum für Psychiatrie und Neurologie AdöR (Initiator und Koordinator)Stiftung Kultur verrückt
  • Frameworks Institute
  • Universität Koblenz – Landau
  • Blackpool Better Start
  • Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz
  • Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover / Hanover Center for Health Communication
  • Landesnetzwerk Selbsthilfe seelische gesundheit Rheinland-Pfalz
  • Hochschule Nordhausen

Contact person

Dr. Regina Osranek

more

Projekt Beschreibung

Um die seelische Gesundheitsversorgung nachhaltig zu verbessern, sind mehr Ressourcen für Prävention und eine bessere Koordination aller relevanten Akteure vonnöten. Im Rahmen einer interdisziplinären Initiative in der Pfalz, die sich auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat, das Thema Resilienz in der Region Pfalz vorwärts zu bringen und auch die öffentliche Meinung zu diesem Thema zu verändern, beschäftigt sich das ITA damit, wie seelische Gesundheit und insb. das Konzept der individuellen Resilienz von Beschäftigten auf Organisationen übertragen werden kann. Denn gelänge diese Übertragung, also kann auch organisationale Resilienz aufgebaut werden, dann ließen sich Krisen oder Zeiten hohen Veränderungsdrucks nicht nur überleben, sondern auch zur Weiterentwicklung einer Organisation in Richtung einer verbesserten Zukunftsfähigkeit im Sinne von Wachstum/Stärkung nutzen.

Im Bereich der seelischen Gesundheit wird die Notwendigkeit des Wandels hin zu mehr Prävention besonders deutlich. Der Blick auf die aktuellen Diskussionen zu (seelischen) Belastungen am Arbeitsplatz und deren Folgen zeigt, dass die Lösung der zutage tretenden gesellschaftlichen Probleme nur unter Berücksichtigung aller relevanten Gruppen und Teilsysteme gelingen kann. Ein rein auf „Reparatur“ ausgerichtetes Gesundheitssystem ist hiermit überfordert.
Auf Basis dieser Erkenntnisse gründete sich in der Pfalz die Initiative „Die Pfalz macht sich/dich stark – Wege zur Resilienz“. Die Federführung liegt beim Pfalzklinikum; beteiligt sind vielfältige Akteure, zum Beispiel Vertreter des Instituts für Technologie und Arbeit e.V. in Kaiserslautern, der Universität Koblenz-Landau und des Instituts für Journalistik und Kommunikationsforschung in Hannover. Die Experten schlossen sich zusammen, um seelischen Erkrankungen in der Pfalz künftig stärker vorzubeugen, die Gesundheitsversorgung also nachhaltig und systemisch zu verbessern.

Schlüssel dazu ist aus Sicht des Teams die Förderung von Resilienz. Das ist die Fähigkeit, mit Veränderungen sowie den Höhen und Tiefen des Lebens gut umzugehen und sich auch unter widrigen Bedingungen zu entwickeln. Ein zentraler Unterschied zu anderen Resilienz-Ansätzen besteht in der Überzeugung: Nicht nur für Einzelne gilt es, stärkende Faktoren aufzubauen und Risiken zu reduzieren – auch Organisationen (Unternehmen, Schulen usw.) und Gemeinden beziehungsweise Städte können Resilienz fördern und kultivieren – mit positiven Implikationen nicht nur auf die Individuen, sondern auf das jeweilige Gesamtsystem. Die Vision des Teams ist eine resiliente Region im Jahr 2025.

Das Bündnis arbeitet aktuell an konkreten Aktivitäten und Netzwerken in den Bereichen „Theorie und Therapie“, „Organisation und Arbeit“ und „Community und Public Health“. Schon heute gibt es eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten, Projekte zur Verbesserung der seelischen Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz, in der Region. Um Gesundheitssystem und Gesellschaft sowie die öffentliche Meinung zum Thema seelische Gesundheit und Prävention wirklich nachhaltig zu verändern, kooperiert die Gruppe mit dem FrameWorks Institute, einer Kommunikationsforschungs-Organisation aus den USA. Dieses wird eine klare, auf die Veränderung der öffentlichen Meinung ausgerichtete Kommunikationsstrategie ausarbeiten, um sowohl Bürgerinnen und Bürger als auch Entscheidungsträger in Unternehmen und Politik zu erreichen und den Diskurs in eine produktive Richtung zu lenken.
In einigen Jahren sollen sich Einstellungen und Strukturen beim Thema seelische Gesundheit in der Pfalz spür- und messbar verändert haben und präventive beziehungsweise gesunderhaltende Maßnahmen ausgebaut sein.

Zur Webseite der Initiative: www.resilienz-pfalz.de

Projekttitel

Organisationale Resilienz im Rahmen der Initiative „Die Pfalz macht sich/dich stark – Wege zur Resilienz“

Laufzeit: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2024

Projektpartner

  • Institut für technologie und Arbeit (ITA)
  • Pfalzklinikum für Psychiatrie und Neurologie AdöR (Initiator und Koordinator)Stiftung Kultur verrückt
  • Frameworks Institute
  • Universität Koblenz – Landau
  • Blackpool Better Start
  • Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz
  • Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover / Hanover Center for Health Communication
  • Landesnetzwerk Selbsthilfe seelische gesundheit Rheinland-Pfalz
  • Hochschule Nordhausen

Ansprechpartnerin

Dr. Regina Osranek