Project Description

The rapid pace of digital change is a challenge for SMEs and their employees. To ensure that small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) remain capable of keeping pace in the future, the Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs (BMAS) has launched a funding program for regional AI (Artificial Intelligence) Hubs for Tomorrow. Their focus is on the participatory and human-centered design, introduction and use of digital technologies.

The Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University, as consortium leader, will establish the Hub for Human-centered AI in Production from now on, together with six other partners in Hessen within the framework of the funding program. Based on the analysis of region-specific support needs, it will in future offer various consulting services and innovative teaching and learning concepts for qualification in the subject areas of digitization and artificial intelligence. SMEs in the manufacturing and skilled trades in Hessen and their employees are to benefit from this free offering in the long term.

Regional Expertise for SMEs in Hesse

The Hub for Human-centered AI in Production creates a practice-oriented format for consulting, qualification, testing and diffusion of digital technologies. It is intended to promote participatory work and technology design and enable SMEs to tap the potential of digital technologies in work and business processes. In addition, ZuKIPro will act as a neutral contact and transfer point for SMEs, sponsors, technology providers and social partners.

ZuKIPro's offerings are tangible and practice-oriented: As part of the so-called platform module, companies can bring a mobile AI lab directly onto the company premises and experience prototypical AI applications. Digital qualification offerings, such as a learning and knowledge platform or Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs), bring the topics of digitization and artificial intelligence to life for employees. Through these formats, the Future Center enables companies and their employees to recognize and analyze the challenges in their own companies, to independently initiate, design and implement learning and solution processes, and to evaluate the results.

The aim of the AI introduction module is to create a low-threshold approach to the topic. To this end, SMEs are supported in the participatory, co-creative introduction and human-centered design of AI systems. Across all modules, the Future Center informs and advises small and medium-sized enterprises according to their needs and enables them to implement concrete solutions.

In order to provide a regionally or locally optimized offer, a total of three offices will be set up. These provide the services and expertise of the participating project collaborates in bundled form in the individual parts of the state: Northern Hessen (Kassel), Central Hessen (Frankfurt a. M.) and Southern Hessen (Darmstadt).

Seven project partners with a common goal

The consortium behind the Hub for Human-centered AI in Production, ZuKIPro, comprises scientific research institutes, chambers, associations and companies that, together with a network of associated partners, are pursuing the goal of advancing digital development with a focus on AI in SMEs.

The strategy of the Hub for Human-centered AI in Production, ZuKIPro, is to establish and make accessible a large Hessen-wide network with partners from local, regional and supra-regional organizations, initiatives and associations. In particular, the combination of technological, ergonomic and socio-political expertise and experience in transfer distinguishes this unique network in Hessen. Through the supra-regional project staffing with partners from North Rhine-Westphalia, Hessen, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland, a close networking with the other future centers is also aimed at in order to use synergies and to continuously develop the offer.

Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence for Production

In the ZuKIPro project, ITA is taking on part of the labor science support for the project, together with the Institute for Labor Science at the TU Darmstadt. In addition to advising medium-sized companies with a focus on the region of southern Hesse, ITA's main focus is on the development and implementation of digital qualification offerings such as an online learning platform and a digital learning game. ITA has many years of experience in research and consulting on participatory, human-centered selection, introduction and implementation of digital (AI) technologies. This includes the PFL-EX and DiCo projects, which are also funded by the German Federal Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs (BMAS), as well as the Mittelstand 4.0 Competence Center Kaiserslautern, which is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

In the current funding phase, the Hub for Human-centered AI in Production will run until the end of 2022, after which it is planned to continue the project until 2027.

Project title

Hub for Human-centered AI in Production "ZuKIPro"

Duration: 01.3.2021-31.12.2022

Project partners

  • Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University - Chair of Production Metrology and Quality Management
  • Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University - Chair of Manufacturing Technology.
  • German Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) - Research Group Smart Service Engineering
  • University of Kassel - Departments of Information Systems, Human-Machine-Systems Engineering, Communication Technology (ComTec)
  • Darmstadt University of Technology - Institute for Technology and Work
  • IHK Kassel-Marburg and IHK Hessen-Innovativ
  • Regional Management Nordhessen GmbH

Funding

The project “ZuKIPro” is funded by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (BMAS) and is implemented in the context of the funding program for regional hub for artificial intelligence.

Contact person

Dipl.-Kfm. techn. Christian Bosse

more

Projekt Beschreibung

Der rasante digitale Wandel fordert den Mittelstand und seine Beschäftigten. Damit kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) auch künftig anschlussfähig bleiben, hat das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) ein Förderprogramm für regionale Zukunftszentren KI ins Leben gerufen. Ihr Fokus liegt auf der partizipativen und menschzentrierten Gestaltung, Einführung und Nutzung digitaler Technologien.

Das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen bildet zusammen mit sechs weiteren Partnern im Rahmen des Förderprogramms als Konsortialführer das regionale Zukunftszentrum für menschzentrierte KI in der Produktionsarbeit ZuKIPro in Hessen. Basierend auf der Analyse regionalspezifischer Unterstützungsbedarfe bietet es diverse Beratungsangebote und innovative Lehr- und Lernkonzepte zur Qualifizierung in den Themenbereichen Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz. Von diesem kostenfreien Angebot profitieren insbesondere KMU des produzierenden Gewerbes und des Handwerks in Hessen sowie deren Beschäftigte langfristig.

Regionale Expertise für hessischen Mittelstand

Mit dem Zukunftszentrum ZuKIPro wird ein praxisorientiertes Format für die Beratung, Qualifizierung, Erprobung und Diffusion von digitalen Technologien geschaffen. Es soll eine partizipative Arbeits- und Technologiegestaltung fördern und KMU dazu befähigen, die Potenziale digitaler Technologien in Arbeits- und Geschäftsprozessen zu erschließen. Zudem soll das ZuKIPro als neutrale Anlauf- und Transferstelle für KMU, Förderer, Technologieanbieter und Sozialpartner fungieren.

Die Angebote des ZuKIPro sind greifbar und praxisorientiert: Im Rahmen des sogenannten Plattformmoduls können sich Unternehmen ein mobiles KI-Labor direkt auf das Betriebsgelände holen und prototypische KI-Anwendungen erleben. Digitale Qualifizierungsangebote, wie eine Lern- und Wissensplattform oder Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs), machen die Themen Digitalisierung und Künstliche Intelligenz für Beschäftigte lebendig. Durch diese Formate befähigt das Zukunftszentrum Unternehmen und ihre Beschäftigten, die Herausforderungen im eigenen Betrieb zu erkennen und zu analysieren, Lern- und Lösungsprozesse selbständig zu initiieren, zu gestalten und eigenständig umzusetzen sowie die Ergebnisse zu evaluieren.

Ziel des KI-Einführungsmoduls ist es, einen niederschwelligen Zugang zum Thema zu schaffen. Hierzu werden KMU bei der partizipativen, co-kreativen Einführung und menschzentrierten Gestaltung von KI-Systemen unterstützt. Modulübergreifend informiert und berät das Zukunftszentrum kleine und mittlere Unternehmen bedarfsgerecht und befähigt zur Umsetzung konkreter Lösungen.

Um ein regional bzw. lokal optimiertes Angebot bereitzustellen, werden insgesamt drei Geschäftsstellen eingerichtet. Diese stellen das Angebot und die Kompetenzen der beteiligten Projektpartner gebündelt in den einzelnen Landesteilen bereit: Nordhessen (Kassel), Mittelhessen (Frankfurt a. M.) und Südhessen (Darmstadt).

Sieben Projektpartner mit einem gemeinsamen Ziel

Das Konsortium hinter dem Zukunftszentrum ZuKIPro umfasst wissenschaftliche Forschungsinstitute, Kammern, Verbände und Gesellschaften, die gemeinsam mit einem Netzwerk aus assoziierten Partnern das Ziel verfolgen, die digitale Erschließung mit dem Fokus auf KI im Mittelstand voranzutreiben.

Die Strategie des Zukunftszentrums ist es, ein hessenweites Netzwerk mit Partnern aus lokalen, regionalen und überregionalen Organisationen, Initiativen und Verbänden aufzustellen und zugänglich zu machen. Insbesondere die Kombination aus technologischer, arbeitswissenschaftlicher und sozialpolitischer Expertise und Erfahrung im Transfer zeichnet das einzigartige Netzwerk in Hessen aus. Durch die überregionale Projektbesetzung mit Partnern aus NRW, Hessen, Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Saarland wird zudem eine enge Vernetzung mit den weiteren Zukunftszentren angestrebt, um Synergien zu nutzen und das Angebot stetig weiterzuentwickeln.

Menschenzentrierte Digitalisierung

Das ITA übernimmt im Projekt ZuKIPro einen Teil der arbeitswissenschaftlichen Begleitung des Projekts, gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft der TU Darmstadt. Neben der Beratung der mittelständischen Unternehmen im Plattformmodul mit Fokus auf der Region Südhessen liegt der Schwerpunkt des ITA auf der Entwicklung und Umsetzung digitaler Qualifizierungsangebote wie einer Online-Lernplattform und einem digitalen Planspiel. Das ITA weist langjährige Erfahrung in der Forschung und Beratung zur partizipativ gestalteten, menschenzentrierten Auswahl, Einführung und Umsetzung digitaler KI-Technologien auf. Dazu gehören u.a. die ebenfalls vom Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) geförderten Projekte PFL-EX und DiCo sowie das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) geförderte Mittelstand 4.0-Kompetenzzentrum Kaiserslautern.

In der aktuellen Förderphase läuft das Zukunftszentrum bis Ende 2022. Anschließend ist geplant, das Projekt bis 2027 fortzuführen.

Projekttitel

Zukunftszentrum für menschzentrierte Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der Produktionsarbeit (ZuKIPro)

Laufzeit: März 2021 – Dezember 2022

Projektpartner

  • Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen – Lehrstuhl für Fertigungsmesstechnik und Qualitätsmanagement
  • Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen – Lehrstuhl für Technologie der Fertigungsverfahren
  • Deutsches Forschungsinstitut für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) – Forschungsgruppe Smart Service Engineering
  • Universität Kassel – Fachgebiete Wirtschaftsinformatik, Mensch-Maschine-Systemtechnik, Kommunikationstechnik (ComTec)
  • Technische Universität Darmstadt – Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft
  • IHK Kassel-Marburg und IHK Hessen-Innovativ
  • Regionalmanagement Nordhessen GmbH

Förderung

Das Projekt „ZuKIPro“ wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales (BMAS) im Förderprogramm für regionale Zukunftszentren KI.

Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Kfm. techn. Christian Bosse

mehr