Project Description

Brief description

Within the framework of the joint project "TrUSD - Transparent and self-determined design of data use in companies", the implementation possibilities of a practical, legally compliant and technology-supported employee data protection with the help of privacy dashboards are being researched. ITA is responsible for the human factors / ergonomics support and develops concepts for the successful introduction and anchoring of the Privacy Dashboard in companies.

The growing digitalization in the working world opens up the possibility for companies to collect and evaluate extensive data on various work processes. On the one hand, this development represents an opportunity for process optimization, on the other hand it presents companies with new challenges in terms of data security and employee data protection. Especially when personal data are collected, transferred, stored and evaluated within the company, this affects questions of informational self-determination of employees and the associated legal regulations (e.g. the European Data Protection Basic Regulation).

At present, employees in Germany rarely have the knowledge or the possibilities to understand, let alone control, the data collected, how they are processed and the possible consequences for their privacy. Therefore, TrUSD develops novel concepts and tools for a practical, legally compliant and technology-supported employee data protection in the form of privacy dashboards and data protection technologies. The focus is on a so-called Privacy Dashboard, which provides employees with all the information they need in a simple and understandable way. At the same time, it is intended to offer setting options for effectively enforcing personal data protection preferences. The Privacy Dashboard will be implemented as a demonstrator within the project and tested in several application scenarios.

Within the framework of its sub-project, the ITA is researching occupational science issues in the context of human-centred or user-centred design of the technology as well as the organisational changes required for the successful application of the technology. The design of the change process through the application of change management methods in the partner companies and organizations plays a central role. Accordingly, ITA is developing a participatory process model and concepts for the introduction of the Privacy Dashboard based on this model, adapted to the concrete application scenarios that are exemplarily considered in the TrUSD project.

In order to achieve the goals, the involvement of all relevant stakeholder groups in the corporate context, including employers, employees, employee representatives (works councils) and trade unions, is a central concern of the ITA. Only by taking all perspectives into account can a set of instruments be created that is accepted by all sides and that enables a fair balance between the interests of employees, employee representatives and employers, thus strengthening the culture of trust and work within the companies.

To the project's website: https://www.trusd-projekt.de/wp/

Link to the BMBF website: https://www.forschung-it-sicherheit-kommunikationssysteme.de/projekte/trusd

Project title

TrUSD - Transparent and self-determined arrangement of data use in companies

Duration: 01.09.2018-31.08.2021

Project partner

  • Institut für Technologie und Arbeit (ITA)
  • HK Business Solutions GmbH (Koordinator)
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Experimentelles Software Engineering IESE
  • Technische Hochschule Köln
  • Universität des Saarlandes

Funding

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Projektträger ist VDI|VDE-IT.

Contact person

Dipl.-Kfm. techn. Christian Bosse

more

Projekt Beschreibung

Kurzbeschreibung

Im Rahmen des Verbundvorhabens „TrUSD – Transparente und selbstbestimmte Ausgestaltung der Datennutzung im Unternehmen“ werden die Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten eines praxistauglichen, rechtskonformen und technologiegestützten Beschäftigtendatenschutzes mit Hilfe von Privacy Dashboards erforscht. Das ITA übernimmt dabei die arbeitswissenschaftliche Begleitung und entwickelt unter anderem Konzepte zur erfolgreichen Einführung und Verankerung des Privacy Dashboards in Unternehmen.

Die wachsende Digitalisierung in der Arbeitswelt eröffnet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, umfangreiche Daten zu verschiedenen Arbeitsprozessen zu erheben und auszuwerten. Diese Entwicklung bildet einerseits die Chance für Prozessoptimierungen, andererseits stellt sie Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen im Hinblick auf Datensicherheit und Beschäftigtendatenschutz. Insbesondere wenn personenbezogene Daten im Unternehmen erhoben, transferiert, gespeichert und ausgewertet werden, tangiert dies Fragen der informationellen Selbstbestimmung von Arbeitnehmern und der damit verbundenen gesetzlichen Regelungen (z. B. die Europäische Datenschutzgrundverordnung).

Aktuell haben Arbeitnehmer in Deutschland selten das Wissen bzw. die Möglichkeiten, die erhobenen Daten, deren Verarbeitung und die damit ggf. verbundenen Konsequenzen für ihre Privatsphäre zu verstehen, geschweige denn zu kontrollieren. In TrUSD werden daher neuartige Konzepte und Werkzeuge für einen praxistauglichen, rechtskonformen und technologiegestützten Beschäftigtendatenschutz in Form von Privacy Dashboards und Datenschutztechnologien entwickelt. Im Zentrum steht ein sogenanntes Privacy Dashboard, das den Arbeitnehmern in einfacher und verständlicher Weise alle benötigten Informationen bereitstellt. Zugleich soll es Einstellmöglichkeiten bieten, um die persönlichen Datenschutzpräferenzen wirksam durchzusetzen. Das Privacy Dashboard wird im Rahmen des Projekts als Demonstrator realisiert und in mehreren Anwendungsszenarien erprobt.

Das ITA erforscht im Rahmen seines Teilvorhabens die arbeitswissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen im Kontext human- bzw. nutzerzentrierte Ausgestaltung der Technologie sowie die für einen erfolgreichen Einsatz der Technologie erforderlichen organisatorischen Veränderungen. Die Gestaltung des Veränderungsprozesses über die Anwendung von Methoden des Change Managements in den Partnerunternehmen bzw. -organisationen nehmen hierbei eine zentrale Rolle ein. Entsprechend entwickelt das ITA ein partizipatives Vorgehensmodell und darauf aufbauende Konzepte zur Einführung des Privacy Dashboards, angepasst auf die konkreten Anwendungsszenarien, die im TrUSD-Projekt beispielhaft betrachtet werden.

Für die Erreichung der Ziele ist die Einbindung aller relevanten Stakeholdergruppen im Unternehmenskontext, unter anderem der Arbeitgeber, Arbeitnehmer, Arbeitnehmervertreter (Betriebsräte) und der Gewerkschaften, ein zentrales Anliegen des ITA. Nur durch die Berücksichtigung aller Perspektiven kann ein von allen Seiten akzeptiertes Instrumentarium entstehen, das einen fairen Ausgleich zwischen den Interessen der Arbeitnehmer, der Arbeitnehmervertretungen und der Arbeitgeber ermöglicht und so die Vertrauens- und Arbeitskultur innerhalb der Unternehmen stärkt.

Link zur Webseite des Projekts: https://www.trusd-projekt.de/wp/

Link zur Projektwebseite des BMBF: https://www.forschung-it-sicherheit-kommunikationssysteme.de/projekte/trusd

Projekttitel

TrUSD – Transparente und selbstbestimmte Ausgestaltung der Datennutzung im Unternehmen

Laufzeit: 01.09.2018-31.08.2021

Projektpartner

  • Institut für Technologie und Arbeit (ITA)
  • HK Business Solutions GmbH (Koordinator)
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Experimentelles Software Engineering IESE
  • Technische Hochschule Köln
  • Universität des Saarlandes

Förderung

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Projektträger ist VDI|VDE-IT.

Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Kfm. techn. Christian Bosse

mehr